AmeriCorps This Week #4

Thanksgiving

What am I thankful for? It is the question every 2nd grader is answered before they left Thanksgiving break. For whatever reason people stopped asking me what I am thankful for, so today, I am going to channel my inner 2nd grader and let you know.

I am reminded every day in the career center how lucky I am to have a job. And further than that a job that I enjoy. I have an opportunity to make a difference every day and I am part of a team who creative-problem-solves on a whim. It is not easy being unemployed. In my opinion it is without a doubt one of the hardest things a person can endure. Which is why my goal is to help people find a job they are thankful for. One that they can share over their next family dinner.

– Blake


Same Day

Last week was productive, especially Monday,  November 24th 2014. At the Wake Forest site, I assisted a veteran who landed a job interview in the duration of one day after applying at UPS. The position was seasonal, but it was my first time assisting a client to apply online and land the interview in duration of one day. Tuesday, 25 Nov 2014 and Wednesday, 26 Nov 2014 were slow traffic days at Wake Forest. Thanksgiving was great overall because I spent time with five out of six siblings and seven out of twelve nieces and nephews.

– Quincy

Leave a Reply

