AmeriCorps This Week #19

Horogemini-36391_640scopes for the Week

I’ve never thought highly of horoscopes, then I took a look at the one from Monday. I saw it was fairly accurate. I was talking to one of my friends on Monday and we were thinking about combining our efforts to take on a greater task. Oddly enough, the horoscope for Monday was about that very topic. It said, “Your best allies at the moment are those who think the same way you do — nimble-minded individuals who’re curious, clever and inventive. Put a couple of you together, and there’s very little you can’t do.” My friend had thought about starting a social gathering of young professionals in this area. However, he didn’t really know the area’s demographic. The horoscope goes on to say, “What seemed like a fairly big issue is suddenly entirely surmountable with the plan you hatch.” We thought about using meetup.com to try to start this task. I don’t know if the horoscope was just so vague that it would be accurate for anybody or if there are some greater mystical forces at work that I can’t begin to fathom.

Then I took a look at the horoscope from Tuesday. “What could be better than trying something new? Nothing!” Now that is hilarious. The day I had to prepare for my last class this month at the prison, I felt like trying something new with my class. It’s true that I get tired of the same old same old. The last class of March, we conducted mock interviews. One of my students had never been in an interview. Normally, I have them do self-evaluations, but I had them do peer evaluations so they could learn each other’s strengths and weaknesses. I had one that had been to many interviews in his life and probably didn’t even need to take the course, but I’m glad he stuck with it anyway. The other one had never had an interview at all and I believe he benefited from the class the most. He even told me he was around 85% more prepared to interview.

Wednesday’s horoscope was something about throwing democracy out of the window and ruling with an iron fist… That one was completely wrong. Today’s horoscope is about biding your time and waiting for the right opportunity to do things. I think it’s too early in the morning to see where this day is going, and I’m in a rush. I’m sure I’ll wait for the right opportunity to do something beneficial today like I do every day. So Thursday’s horoscope loses too. And since the office is going to be closed for Good Friday, Friday’s horoscope is the absolute last thing on my mind.

These horoscope things hit and miss, and I don’t think it’s a great idea to live your life by it. This week had two out of four horoscopes that kind of worked for me… but as the saying goes, even a broke clock is right twice a day.

-Clint

Leave a Reply

