April 2016 Newsletter

Letter from the Editoramericorps-logo

Dear Readers,

The weather is turning nice again. Personally, I find the upper 80 degree weather to be too hot, but one of my workshop attendees at the prison put things in perspective for me. He’s from Puerto Rico, so naturally it’s rather hot there.  He told me when he brought his lunch with him to work he would leave it in his car and by lunch time he had a meal ready. Since my adjective name is “Cultured Clint”, one day in July, I’ll park in the least shaded area possible, leave the windows up and put a frozen entrée on the dashboard facing the sun. Just some food for thought…  I really don’t have much to say.

Thank you,

Clint


Deborah’s DeskDeborah sm 2

Our Members are doing so well in this year of service! Many of our Members receive wonderful thank you notes, poems, etc. from grateful customers.  The service work that Access Workforce Development provides is essential to the well-being of so many job seekers.  Congratulations and thank you to our Members for their fine service and dedication.

Do you, or do you know someone, that might like to make a difference in people’s lives?  We are recruiting for our AmeriCorps team next year!  If you or someone you know are interested in becoming an AmeriCorps member, please get in touch.  Just send me an email: deborah.bromiley@wakegov.com


 

Beth’s Bios

Adjective Name: Cultured Clint10417753_327818837420587_5772272785392946827_n

Hometown: Wilson, NC

Placement Site: Clayton NCWorks Career Center

What led you to doing a year of service with Access Workforce Development?

I wanted to help people. My sister suggested AmeriCorps to me. She had been part of a similar program years before.

Do you have a favorite memory so far?

Well this is a bit of foreshadowing, but a customer came in this month and told me that he got a job and the hiring manager really liked the resume I helped him create. That was awesome.

If you had $1,000,000 and had to donate it to one charity, which would you choose and why?

I can’t really decide. It would be a six way tie between the rock CAN roll, Habitat For Humanity, Green Music Group, Reverb and The Children’s Center. I’d probably just give each one $166,666.67.

Who or what motivates you when you’re having a rough day or going through hard times?

I have hobbies like art and music stuff. That’s pretty relaxing…

If you could have dinner with anyone (dead or alive) who would you choose and why?

Good question… I literally have every person who has ever lived and everyone on the planet right now. How does one decide just one? I guess I’ll use the process of elimination. This could take a while…

What would you do with an extra hour in the day dedicated to only what you would want to do?

I’d probably just work on my art and music stuff.

 

Adjective Name: Bubbly Beth12289632_10153382635418577_2272172705125838735_n

 

Hometown: Wethersfield, CT (Worcester, MA)

Placement Site: Tillery

What led you to doing a year of service with Access Workforce Development?

There are two reasons I chose to do AmeriCorps and specifically this program. Firstly, I love volunteering and helping other people. I know that when I’m having a bad day, one kind word can make it better. I wanted to do the same for other people. The reason I chose this program was because it played to my strengths of being in a business setting while helping people. This year is equivalent to my first year of work experience, and I hold it in high regard.

Do you have a favorite memory so far?

I have many favorite memories, as most days have been good days. However, one thing that will stick out to me is my first day of outreach at Step Up Ministry. Along with Tiffany, another AmeriCorps member, I help with mock interviews on Friday mornings. On my first day I walked into the room and felt this overwhelming sense of pride each of the job-seekers had in completing their week long Jobs Week training. They were energized and dressed to impress. I remember being in awe of the program and how powerful one week can be for individuals who have otherwise felt dejected. I carry that emotion with me daily when I’m helping customers.

If you had $1,000,000 and had to donate it to one charity, which would you choose and why?

The American Diabetes Association. 29 million Americans are diagnosed with diabetes, which is about 1 in every 11 people. The medical costs for people with diabetes are twice as high as those without diabetes. I became invested in this organization through a summer internship which opened my eyes to the devastating truth of this disease. I am still committed to the ADA and support one of their key fundraising events, the Tour de Cure.

Or, I would donate it to Villalobos Rescue Center, in New Orleans. This facility houses over 300 pit bulls, the breed of dog most rejected by society. The owner, Tia Torres, hires ex-offenders, another population rejected by society. Not only do the ex-offenders help the dogs, the dogs help the ex-offenders. It’s a beautiful concept that I support regularly. If I had the time, money and space, I would adopt about 32 dogs from her.

Who or what motivates you when you’re having a rough day or going through hard times?

My faith has always kept me strong when I’m going through rough times. I know I can always call my dad and mom if I need to vent or ask for advice. But throughout this program, my site supervisor, Bonnie, has been my #1 cheerleader, reminding me that “every day may not be great, but there will be something great in every day.”

If you could have dinner with anyone (dead or alive) who would you choose and why?

I would like to have dinner with one of my favorite authors, Justin Somper. He’s a British author who wrote a series of books, the Vampirate series. I would like to find his motivation behind writing them and the reasoning behind some of his literary decisions.

What would you do with an extra hour in the day dedicated to only what you would want to do?

I would spend it reading more or exercising. I love doing both of these things, but there never seems to be enough time in the day to do them regularly.


Mike’s MuseMike Profile

  1. There is a 4000 year old clay tablet which is a customer’s letter complaining about sub-standard copper and wanting a refund.
  2. Famed molecular biologist James Watson put his Nobel Prize up for auction in 2014 due to financial hardships. It sold for $4.1 million, and was promptly returned to him by the buyer.
  3. Axe advertising was targeted to work on insecure males. The ads were so successful that the brand eventually backpedaled, as the brand was being too closely associated with their target group.
  4. Monty Python’s movie, The Life of Brian, was funded solely by George Harrison of the Beatles after EMI backed out due to the subject matter.
  5. Jimmy Carter said if he became president, he would release all government UFO information to the public. Once elected, he decided not to due to “national security LePetitTourette01concerns.”
  6. When South Park did an episode on Tourettes, the Tourettes Association said they expected it to be offensive. After broadcast, they conceded there was “a surprising amount of accurate information conveyed”, adding that the episode “served as a clever device” for providing accurate facts.
  7. Winston Churchill, along with many of the Royal Navy’s highest ranking men, came very close to death after the ship they were on was fired at by a U-boat with 3 torpedoes. All three struck the hull of the ship, but all failed to explode.
  8. During World War II a Dutch minesweeper evaded the Japanese for eight days disguised as an island. The crew covered the decks in cut trees and painted exposed surfaces to look like rocks. They moved only at night and anchored closed to shore by day, eventually escaping to Australia.
  9. Domino’s Pizza stated that its pizza delivery sales during the televised chase of OJ 4f30f18ddd63fccaa75482a81e7361e2
    Simpson were as large as on Super Bowl Sunday.
  10. Prince used an image of Dave Chappelle dressed as him on the cover of his 2013 single, “Breakfast Can Wait.” When asked about it Chappelle said, “What am I going to do — sue him for using a picture of me dressed up like him? … That’s checkmate right there.”
  11. A 73-year-old woman bought a painting from a thrift store for $5 only to later discover that, thanks to a fingerprint on the canvas, it was actually an unsigned Jackson Pollock worth millions of dollars.
  12. In the last years of her life, Rosa Parks became too ill to manage her own financial par0-018affairs. When her rent became delinquent, her apartment’s ownership company announced they would let her live rent free in the building for the remainder of her life.
  13. A 61 year old potato farmer won the inaugural Westfield Sydney to Melbourne Ultramarathon, a distance of 875 kilometres (544 mi). This was almost two days faster than the previous record for any run between Sydney and Melbourne.
  14. Because Brazil couldn’t afford to send its athletes to the 1932 Olympics in Los Angeles, they loaded their ship with coffee and sold it along the way.
  15. The word “apron” was originally “napron” but “a napron” shifted to “an apron”.
  16. “Where the Wild Things Are” was originally going to be “Where the Wild Horses Are” until Maurice Sendak started working on it and discovered he couldn’t draw horses.where-the-wild-things-are-2
  17. An Alabama school tried to ban ‘The Diary of A Young Girl’ by Anne Frank in 1983 because, according to the board’s records, it was “a real downer.”
  18. Lucille Ball’s production company, Desilu, produced the original Star Trek TV series, and Lucy herself approved the development of the Star Trek concept into a series.octopus-730x457
  19. The Code of Hammurabi (1754 BC) decreed that bartenders who watered down beer would be executed.
  20. According to the Hawaiian creation myth, our universe comes from the wreckage of
    another, earlier universe and the only creatures that survived from that alien universe are octopuses.

 


Bridgette’s Board


Clint’s Corner: Success is the Best10309340_340518589483945_2529511194063989212_n

Everyday I’m helping customers with their resumes. I have seen so many people list their work experience from the 1970’s to 2016. These resumes are pages normally three to five pages long, and I try to look at everything. Well before creation comes destruction… I tell them they have to deconstruct their entire resume and construct to be more efficient. I want people to think about reading resumes from the employer’s point of view. Who has time to go over every last detail of a resume, when they generally have a stack of resumes to go through?  It’s amazing how fast a situation can turn when your resume just has relevant information on it.

A customer was using the computer in our center not too long ago. He was working on his resume and he had one of those information packets that went over his entire job history. I let out a sigh, and just began to work with him. So after we took out all of the previous jobs that weren’t important to the position he was applying for, after taking out certifications he wouldn’t need on that job, and after we took out his hobbies we were only left with a two pages of relevant information. I was convinced we could make it one page. So I gave the resume narrow margins and played with the paragraph spacing and alignment. We got it all on one page and though it may be a little biased, I thought it looked pretty fantastic. He thanked me and went on his merry way.

Normally, I’m not used to seeing people come back after I’ve helped them with their resume. If I don’t ever see them again, and I remember who they are, I assume they have obtained employment. Sometimes they do come back and tell me they got the job and it makes me happy I was able to help. This was probably the first case of a person coming back and telling me the hiring manager really enjoyed their resume. That document the two of us spent about an hour and a half working on got its recognition I believe it deserved. When you’re helping a never ending supply of people better their resumes, it’s nice if every now and then credit is given where credit is due.


B’s Bakeryb4cd41b9-de9a-4f16-b661-b9e6c6405e13.jpg

Pizza Pinwheels

Makes 13-15 pinwheels, about 4-6 servings

  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1 TBSP yeast
  • 1 TBSP sugar
  • 1 TBSP oil
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 1/2- 3 cups flour
  • 1 1/2- 2 cups Ragu Six Cheese Pasta Sauce + more for dipping
  • 2 1/2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 2 cups total pizza toppings- mini pepperoni, diced ham, sliced olives, and pineapple tidbits, 142a993f-de1c-4f50-ae15-6a77a61874acetc. OPTIONAL

Combine warm water, yeast and sugar in a mixing bowl and let sit for about 3-4 minutes, until yeast is bubbling up. Add in oil, salt and flour.

Start with 2 1/2 cups of flour, then add more until the dough cleans the sides of the mixing bowl. (I use a mixer for this part as it makes it just so much easier!

Continue mixing for an additional 3-4 minutes, then cover with plastic wrap and let sit in a warm place for 15 minutes.

PLEASE NOTE IN COLD WEATHER I PREFER TO  turn my oven on for about 3 or 4 minutes, then turn it off and let my dough rest in the oven


Raleigh RendezvousProfile Photo

Bubbly Beth and Ambitious Ally

Michael’s lists of random facts seem to be making everyone laugh. So, I have decided to write an article (with the joint help of Ally) about things Northerners don’t understand about people in the South or about things that surprise us about the south.il_fullxfull.738510631_g9aa.jpg

Here’s our list:

  1. Monograms
    • Why must you brand your vest, car, phone case, water bottles, shoes, shirts, etc.? Also, why is your last initial in the middle….just an odd idea altogether.
  2. Abundance of Thrift Shops
    • In the words of Oprah Winfrey: you get a thrift shop! You get a thrift shop! Everyone gets a thrift shop!a-v-ricks-pawnshop-diamond-exchange-lancaster-ca
  3. Pawn Shops
    • What are all these southerners pawning!?
  4. S L O W P A C E
    • Everyone walks slower, talks slower and moves slower. Where’s the sense of urgency? Why is there no hustle?!
  5. Fried Foods
    • Everything can be fried. Everything will be fried. There is no wrong time of day to eat fried food.31174_fried_chicken_biscuits_inline_6_640 Breakfast? Sure. Lunch? Go ahead. Dinner? Of course!
  6. No beer/wine in liquor stores…or at Walmart
    • In order to make a margarita, one must go to two different stores. ABC stores only sell liquor and grocery stores only sell the mixers. It’s forever surprising to me that I can’t get a bottle of wine at the liquor store and need to go to Harris Teeter.
  7. Alcohol before noon on Sundays
    • If I want a Bloody Mary at 10am on Sunday, I have to make it myself. Restaurants cannot serve alcohol before noon on Sundays. And, on top of that, in order to make that Bloody Mary, I need to make two stops.
  8. “Fixin’ to”
    • Why do southerners say this? They’re not fixing anything. They’re doing something. “I’m fixin’ to go to the mall.” What are you actually fixing? And why must you “fix” to go somewhere. Odd.
  9. “Yes ma’am” and “Yes sir”
    • These are not signs of age but rather respect. Getting ma’am’ed isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but a sign of respect.
  10. “Bless your heart!”
    • When things go wrong: “Bless your heart” When things go right: “Bless your 2013-06-02-01heart” Really, just bless your heart all the time.
  11. Sweet Tea
    • It’s tea…with ice…and a lemon. Can’t forget the lemon.
  12. “Ya’ll”
    • Although this is a useful concept…it still oozes Southern pride.

This is just a small compilation of things that the South has that Ally and myself do not understand. Not to mention lack of turn signals while driving.

Working at a restaurant in the south, I sometimes stick out like sore thumb. One time, a guest asked me for a half-half tea…I didn’t know what that was. I sometimes have to ask guests to repeat their order to be sure I understand through their drawl. Post-confusion, I often get asked about where I’m from and after going into a two minute spiel about moving here for a year of service, not having enough money and ending up at a restaurant, the guest almost always asks if I can speak with a southern accent.

But in all honesty: “There is nothing sillier than a Northerner imitating a Southern accent…except if it’s a Southerner imitating a Boston accent.”

April Cover 2016

 

Leave a Reply

