March 2017 Newsletter

march 1

And Spring has sprung!


Madison’s Goal of the Month: Participate in active, open discussions when the opportunity presents itself.

After this month’s visit to the International Civil Rights Museum in Greensboro, I felt incredibly saddened by the more gruesome aspects of our nation’s history and simultaneously moved and inspired by the individuals who have stood up for justice and made such a great impact on our country and even our state. I went home and told all of my friends and family about it and how it has motivated me to learn and do more.  As someone who craves connection with others and getting to know who they are, I find it fairly easy to talk to anyone. When it comes to difficult conversations, though, sometimes I shy away. It might be out of fear of the unknown or concern that I won’t have the right response. I’ve come to realize that the importance of opening lines of dialogue is way greater than my personal anxieties. I want to challenge myself to continue forward in difficult discussions; to worry less about what will be said or what I should say, and to listen actively and ask questions when I don’t understand. I want to find courage to speak up, respectfully, when I know something is wrong. I want to challenge myself to do the right thing, even when it’s hard. These are things I’ve always tried to do, but am realizing that the stakes are higher now and the need to be engaged, informed, and connected in our society is paramount.

This 20-minute TED talk by Bryan Stevenson about the need to talk about injustice is a little longer than some, but is definitely worth watching or listening to when you have the time.

 


Chef Michelle’s Garlic and Pea Soup with Whipped Cream

A sure tell-tale sign that spring is here is the abundance of fresh peas in the market.  This recipe is a wonderfully refreshing way to use them.  Don’t tell the kids this is good for them because they are sure to love this soup as much as the adults.  This soup can be served warm or chilled.

pea soup

Ingredients

2 (1 more if you like it garlicky) cloves of garlic

4 tablespoons olive oil, divided

Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

2 cups shelled fresh peas or frozen peas, thawed

⅓ cup heavy cream

Preparation

Heat 2 Tbsp. oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add mashed garlic, season with salt and pepper, add 4 cups water to saucepan and bring to a boil. Add peas, reduce heat, and simmer gently until peas are bright green and tender, about 5 minutes.

Let cool slightly, then purée soup in a blender with remaining 2 Tbsp. oil, adding water to thin if needed, until smooth. Strain soup through a fine-mesh sieve into a clean saucepan, pressing on solids; season with salt and pepper again if adjustment is needed. Reheat briefly (to preserve color) before serving.

Beat cream with a whisk in a medium bowl to soft peaks; season with salt and pepper. Serve soup with a swirl of whipped cream.

DO AHEAD: Soup can be made 1 day ahead. Cover and chill.

***The key to a vibrant green (not khaki) soup: Bring the water up to a boil quickly over high heat, and err on under-cooking the peas to preserve their color.


Kalen’s Civil Rights Museum Reflection

005-the-greensboro-four-828441

“This past Saturday our team went to the International Civil Rights Center and Museum. There is a lot I can say about this museum visit but to sum it up in three words, I would have to say: Educational, Inspiring and Historical! I was very excited to expand my knowledge on the Civil Rights Movement. The reason I say this trip was inspiring is because the tour guide inspired our group at the end of the tour to make a change and speak up if there is an injustice being done. The trip was historical due to the fact that there were actual pieces of history inside the museum and not a replica. The museum contained the Woolworth lunch counter, which really took me back in time when I first walked into the exhibit. The trip was educational because I learned new information in every exhibit. I am so grateful that I was able to see this historical museum.”

Here are some photos from our visit:


The I.Q. Corner

(Inspirational Quotes that energize you to “get things done” this year) by Tracey

“See the light in others, and treat them as if that is the only thing you see!”

“A wise person knows that there is something to be learned from everyone.”

“How you make others feel about themselves says a lot about you.”

Until next time…….be inspired!!!

2017013195145818951487610502901


March Babies

Let’s wish a collective “Happy Birthday” to our members who have birthdays this month!

Madison (March 8)

Michelle (March 21)

Happy Birthday!

Bright air balloons


* Special Mention*

We want to wish a fond farewell to Pamela Mason who served at the Fuquay-Varina NC Works center! Congratulations on your new job with Easter Seals, Pam! We are all excited for you and wish nothing but the best for you.


March Team Service


qualificationsstudentexample

Leave a Reply

